Spring 2022 ACSS Award Nominations are Live!!

The Awards Committee of the Arizona Council for the Social Studies needs your help! 

Each year, we showcase excellence in the teaching of social studies in our state through our awards program. It’s time to nominate yourself or your colleagues for recognition. These ACSS awards are given each year. 

  • ACSS Wilbur Murra Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Social Studies
  • ACSS Isidore Starr Award for Outstanding Social Studies Teacher of the Year
  • ACSS Great Moments in Teaching the Social Studies Awards


Special ACSS Awards may also be given such as:


Our conference may also honor recipients of awards given by other organizations such as:

  • James Madison Memorial Fellowship Foundation Senior Fellows
  • Gilder-Lehrman History Teacher of the Year Awards
  • We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution State Competition Results
  • Arizona Educational Foundation Teacher of the Year Awards
  • National Council for Geographic Education: Distinguished Teacher of the Year Awards


So, nominate yourself or a deserving colleague today!!! Please submit all nominations to the Arizona Council for the Social Studies: [email protected] Attention: Awards Committee by the end of February 15, 2022. Thanks for helping us to highlight the best of Arizona Social Studies teaching and learning.